New Hope wins big at Australian Business Awards

9 August 2018

New Hope Group has scooped up three 2018 ABA100 Australian Business Awards for its innovative work in x-ray technology and automatic braking systems and its contribution to community.


Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Shane Stephan said the awards were well deserved recognition of a workforce encouraged to innovate and engage from the ground up.

"New Hope has a long history of backing in-house innovation and I’m proud to say almost all our innovative technologies have been initiated, developed, championed and utilised by our employees," Mr Stephan said.

"That level of direct involvement from our workforce seeking to continually improve, streamline and progress our operations is something that is distinctly New Hope and something worth promoting." 

A trial of x-ray sorting technology by New Hope’s New Acland Mine was recognised as an 2018 ABA100 winner for Business Innovation for its ability to improve the quality of coal before its processed through the mine’s wash plant.

In what could be the first ever Australian coal application of the novel sorting technology, New Acland Mine trialled x-ray and high pressure air jets to eject reject material from raw coal at a testing facility in Melbourne.

New Hope’s Jeebropilly Mine was also named an ABA100 winner for Business Innovation for its Automatic Braking System, a failsafe braking design that ensures safe passage of mining equipment underneath road overpasses and bridges.

Developed on site by Jeebropilly’s maintenance team, the technology has since been installed across the site’s mining fleet.

New Hope was also named ABA100 winner in the Community Contribution category for its work in communities around its operations, including its commitment to local procurement, industry skills programs and community consultation.

The award also recognises New Hope’s nine year partnership with RACQ LifeFlight Rescue which delivers aeromedical services and rural safety skills to locals living around New Acland Mine.

A full list of winners is available on the Australian Business Awards website at